By Ken Stern 

Agen leads in La Conner school board contest


November 8, 2023

Hand putting ballot in dropbox.

Nancy Crowell

ALL OVER BUT THE COUNTING – Election day is Nov. 7 but in Washington state it ends the 18-day voting period. This ballot was cast in La Conner in October. Locally, the La Conner School District Position 2 Director seat was the only contested election.

The one contested election for greater La Conner voters in 2023, between John Agen and Janie Beasley for La Conner School District Director Position 2 has Agen with 453 votes, 53.7% after the first vote tally Nov. 7, ahead by 68 votes. Beasley received 385 votes, 45.7%.

All Town of La Conner candidates did not have opposition and won: Marna Hanneman for mayor, has 170 votes; Annie Taylor, appointed in 2021, for council position 1, has 162; and Mary Wohleb, an incumbent, 169. They take their oaths in December. Hanneman replaces Ramon Hayes, mayor since 2007.

Two La Conner school board director...

For access to this article please sign in or subscribe.


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2024

Rendered 05/25/2024 15:43