By Ken Stern 

BREAKING: town council candidates forum streaming now

Pre-recorded by Skagit County League of Women Voters


October 15, 2021

HALF THE LA CONNER TOWN COUNCIL CANDIDATES ARE THE CHOICE OF THE REX – It is not within town limits, but the owners of The Rex on Best Road were posting their choices for the La Conner town council for all to see. – Photo by Ken Stern

It is time to choose among six candidates running for three La Conner Town Council seats. Get an up close and personal look at the candidates – the pairings are Ivan Carlson versus John Leaver, Rick Dole against Bill Stokes and Glen Johnson facing MaryLee Chamberlain – at the Skagit County League of Women Voters website:

The forum, prerecorded Wednesday, Oct. 13 and available on the website starting today, was organized in a partnership between the League and the La Conner Weekly News. Susie Deyo, president of the La Conner School District Board of Directors, moderated the hour long Zoom presentation.

Between their opening and closing remarks, the candidates responded to questions submitted earlier by town residents and curated and finalized by Weekly News editor Ken Stern, Britt Wisniewsk and the League’s voter services committee.

La Conner residents – and everyone interested in the town’s elected government – can go on line now. The forum will be available through election night, Nov. 2.

Ballots were mailed Wednesday. They can be dropped off at the county ballot drop box at the La Conner library on Morris Street or mailed. They must be postmarked by Nov. 2. If mailed after Oct. 27, have your ballot envelope hand canceled to ensure it is counted.

Register to vote online through Oct. 25 or register at the Skagit County auditor’s office through the close of voting 8 p.m. Nov. 2.

Stream the La Conner council candidates forum at League of Women Voters website:

Call and question the council candidates right up until you cast your ballot if you want more information from them.


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2024