La Conner Weekly News - Your independent hometown award-winning newspaper

By Ken Stern 

All LD 10 legislative seats are completely competitive


"DEMOCRACY IN ACTION – Friday afternoon these Angela Homola supporters started at the roundabout and walked to Gilkey Square to promote their candidate to rush hour drivers – and you. From left to right, are Alden Schnabel, Max Drew, Eleanor Drews, MaQuaid Hiller and Bill Taylor. Voting continues through 8 p.m. Aug. 4. – Photo by Ken Stern

The Washington State Legislative District 10 is one of the few competitive districts in the state this election. The Position 1 seat has four Democrats and one Republican hoping to replace retiring longtime Rep. Norma Smith, R-Clinton. Dave Paul, D-Oak Harbor, holds the Position 2 seat, which he wrested from Rep. Dave Hayes by just over 700 votes in 2018.

Sen. Barbara Bailey, R-Oak Harbor, retired last fall from the District’s Senate seat. Ron Muzzall, a farmer from Oak Harbor was appointed to replace her. Island County Commissioner Helen Price Johnson, also of Oak Harbor, is the Democra...

For access to this article please sign in or subscribe.


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2022