La Conner Weekly News - Your independent hometown award-winning newspaper

Lundsten seeks Wesen’s county commissioner seat


ARE YOU READY TO VOTE? – Flocks of campaign volunteers have fluttered through La Conner, leaving their candidates' signs behind. You can vote once you have your ballot, but have you done your research? It ought to more than a sign to get you to decide . – Photo by Ken Stern

In Skagit County, the Board of County Commissioners is the legislative authority and administrators of several County operations. They adopt the annual budget, levy taxes and set five department budgets: emergency services, health parks, planning and roads. They legislate ordinances “concerning the general welfare of the County.” They also have quasi-judicial duties.

The Commissioners are partisan elected officials. Candidates are nominated in the primary election, by ballots cast only their home district. All county voters vote in the general election.

District No. 1 encompasses Anac...

For access to this article please sign in or subscribe.


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2023